How can I configure Outlook so that emails will be deleted on the server?

How can I configure Outlook so that emails will be deleted on the server?

This tutorial is optimized for Outlook 2013.

If you configure the email client via IMAP connection all emails deleted on Outlook will be deleted on the server as soon as you close Outlook. Therefore, if you are using the IMAP protocol, this article does not concern you. If you are using pop3, you can limit retention on the server.

This tutorial will show you how, using POP3, you can still make sure that once you delete a message, it is also deleted on the server.

  1. Open Outlook.

  2. Click on ‘FILE’.

    FILE

  3. Select the ‘Account Settings’ button and click again on ‘Account Settings’ from the drop-down menu.

    Account Information Account Settings drop-down menu

  4. You should now see an 'Account Settings' window.

    Account Settings

  5. Select your account from the list and click on 'Change'.

    Change account

  6. You should now see the 'Change account' window. Click on the 'More Settings' button at the bottom.

  7. Switch to the 'Advanced' tab.

    Advanced

  8. Select 'Remove from the server when deleted from Deleted Items’.

    Select 'Remove from the server when deleted from Deleted Items’

  9. Click on 'OK'.

  10. Click on 'Next'.

    Done

  11. Close.

  12. To test, delete one of your messages from your Inbox. Find it in the 'Deleted Items' section of your Outlook account. Switch to Webmail to check if it is still there. Only when you delete it from 'Deleted Items', it will disappear from your Webmail.

Couldn't find a solution?

Our team is available 24/7 to provide you with free assistance. Feel free to contact our collaborators, free of charge, via e-mail or telephone.

0800-8-5678

+32 (0)9 218 79 79